February A&E: Books, Movies, and Video Games

This is what I read, watched, and played in February.

Books: The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

Stretching over many years and five narrators, The Bone Clocks portrays hidden magic in our world. This is the first David Mitchell novel I’ve read, and I’m excited to read Slade House.

Writing: I’m writing a road-trip adventure about a young man looking for a lost book. Right now I’m at a little over 4,000 words.

TV Shows: I just finished season four of The X-Files. I especially like the episode Musings of a Cigarette Smoking Man.

Movies: I watched Deadpool, and it was everything I wanted from a Deadpool adaptation. Don’t take your kids!

deadpool toy movie

“Does this count as a fourth-wall break?”

Video Games: Mass Effect by BioWare

Mass Effect is a sci-fi roleplaying game. Once I got used to the gameplay, I was absorbed by the story and player choices. You are a human soldier with an eclectic band of companions tasked with saving humanity and the other alien races. Your decisions change the outcome of the game and even carry over into the sequel.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Those all sound very interesting! I also enjoyed the Deadpool adaptation 🙂 I have heard good things about The Bone Clocks, but I haven’t read it, so this is a good reminder.

    Reply
  2. Unfortunately I didn’t go to theatre to see Deadpool and now I feel sorry because of that.
    Good luck with your writing! 🙂
    Btw, I still blame X-files for my nightmares so now I’m avoiding it even though it is a great show.

    Reply
    • You can always see it later. I remember waiting for the library to get new movie releases!

      Thanks for the comment!

      Reply
  3. Lee

     /  March 12, 2016

    Mass Effect must be one of my all-time favourite games! Have you played any of the sequels yet?

    I’m a big fan of the X-Files as well. I’ve only watched the first season so far though. I remember it scaring the crap out of me when I was a kid, ha!

    Reply
    • I just finished the first one, and I’m very excited for Mass Effect 2! Right now I’m neck deep in Dark Souls 2.

      I started watching the X-Files after college so it’s a very different experience for me. I love the mythos of the show.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

