Runner – Part VI

This is Part 6 of my serial narrative, “Runner.”

You can enter the adventure two ways:

  1. Download a PDF from the link here. The PDF will contain Parts 1-6. Or …
  2. Read the post below. (Here’s a link to Runner – Part I if you haven’t read that yet.)

***

Part VI

Ava and I agreed to meet at a local park for lessons. She was sitting on top of a picnic table when I arrived. She pushed off with her hands, landed on the ground in one languid movement, and walked up to me. She was wearing sweatpants and a T-shirt.

“Do you need to warm up?”

I shook my head.

“You’re going to learn some basic vaults today,” she said. “It’s obvious that you’re athletic. But parkour requires a strong mind as well as a strong body. It’s more like a martial art than a sport.”

Ava pointed at the table.

“This is your training partner for today,” she said. “Meet Mr. Table.”

The table was a wooden picnic table, solid and rugged.

She smiled. “You can view the table as an obstacle. Or as a path. ‘There is no spoon.’”

Angel ran forward and leaped over the table. She lifted her legs to the side so they passed over the table. As she went over, she touched the table for stability.

“That’s a speed vault,” she said.

Angel demonstrated the vault again. “You’re not using your hand to push off. It’s just a guide.”

She had me try it next. I ran and jumped and vaulted over. It was over in an instant. The movement felt natural. After a while, Ava said, “Okay, I’m going to teach you the Kong vault next.”

She ran toward the table, leaped forward, pushed off with both hands, and soared over the table. She landed firmly.

“Stand over there,” she ordered, pointing to the narrow part of the table. “You’ll get a side view of the vault.”

She launched herself over the table again. For an instant before she touched the table, she was parallel to the ground. The Kong vault looked unnatural — it looked like I would hit my feet.

Angel might have sensed my trepidation. She told me to shorten the move by jumping onto the table before attempting the full vault. I did that twice. I had to try the vault now.

I stared at the table, a knot forming in my belly, the familiar tickle of adrenaline surged through me. Ava’s presence made me uncomfortable.

I charged the table and jumped. I pushed off with my hands, and suddenly — I was soaring, almost flying, my body unlocked from gravity’s chains. Then it was over. My feet hit the ground.

A warm glow filled me. Angel smiled and said, “Behold, the king.”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. What do you think?

    Reply
  2. it’s good stuff, mate!

    Reply
  3. i have to admit that the different types of vaults didn’t really interest me…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

