A Different Life

In a different life, I didn’t go to Cedarville University. Instead of choosing Cedarville in 2008, I decided to stay in Columbus and go to Otterbein University. I’m graduating with a degree in Journalism and Media Communication soon.

I’m an intern at the Columbus Dispatch, and I’m hoping they’ll hire me in May.

I don’t write creative nonfiction because I’ve never heard of it. I’m writing a novel, probably about vampires or werewolves or superheroes.

I didn’t work two summers at camp. I never met my girlfriend.

I’m quieter, more reserved.

My decision to attend Cedarville has shaped who I am. One key decision can guide the rest of your life.

Scientists have found that humans replace most of their cells every seven or ten years. So I’m not the same cellular material as I was when I was born.

We are shaped by the people in our lives. When I hear Cedarville, I think about the people. My roommates. My friends. My classmates. I have shared life with these people, and they’re made deep impressions in my thinking.

This begs the questions: Am I the only Jonathan that could have existed (or does exist)?

How do you view time? Is it a straight line, perfect and unbroken? Or is it a branching root system? Are there alternative paths?

Some cultures such as the Mayans believed time is circular, and they sometimes represent this idea with a snake eating its tail (the Ouroboros).

life eats its tail by pheezy, on Flickr
Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic License  by  pheezy 

Are we windup soldiers marching in-step to our creator’s drum? Or are we blind men groping about in the darkness? I believe we are neither … we are something more complex, something liquid.

Who would you be if you made a different decision in your life? Please tell your story.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Please comment.

    Reply
  2. Love the topic. There is a song that ponders the same question, “That Road Not Taken” (recorded by Joe Diffie, written by Casey Kelly). Listen to it sometime… We all have those pivotal moments in our lives when we make the decisions that change our path drastically–in a good way, or not. I made a decision in 1978 to leave Jasonville, Indiana. Nice hometown, but it would not have been good for me long-term. Staying there was my ‘road NOT taken.’ It was a good decision to leave. I would not be the same person today. Not even close.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the comment 🙂 I listen to the song you suggested, very good song. When I was listening to it I realized my “roads not taken” are not too defined because I’m young … I might have more hindsight when I’m maybe 25 or 30.

      Reply
  3. there are always so many factors in every decision made, hence i struggle to imagine “where would i be if i hadn’t …” i still wonder if there was a single moment where i decided to apply to university in the states or i simply started and never gave up. (applying to university in the states is a long and arduous process) if i hadn’t completed my applications, i wouldn’t be on this blog right now 🙂 i’d probably be in a university in malaysia, preparing to spend the last two years of completing my degree in the uk. i can’t imagine…who i would have been.

    Reply
  4. I think about this a lot…

    It’s funny – I was down to two choices for school also, Cedarville and Otterbein, and ended up with the opposite decision that you did!

    Great thoughts 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you. It’s funny how much one little decision can change things up … I’m content with where I am though.

      Reply
  5. STX

     /  March 25, 2012

    Very poignant Bundy! It’s so true! We all have those things that would have changed who we are and how we respond to things. I think half the reason I love camp so much is not only my attendance at camp from an early age to working at camp until I married, but also those things I look back on that were struggles at the time, changed me to look at problems with people and how to respond in a more Christian way. Recently I struggled with a girl who I was planning a party with but through prayer and trying to do the right thing, I came out of the discussion we had with no Hirt feelings, and in fact we didn’t even have to talk about the so called ‘issues’ we were having, we simply planned the party and we were all on the same page. That was all through God’s Grace! And had I not had some of the other struggles I had before that I would probably not have responded in the same way, reaching out to my PHOC ladies for prayer, taking to reflect on whether my attitude was the wrong one, and really praying hard that God would lead while my stomach was turning in knots. And the best part of that sickening (yes it was because I lost weight and got a bad cold out of all the stress) experience, is that I can now reference that for the next challenge I face. Maybe it will be a staffer struggling with some campers or other staff, or maybe I won’t new it til my kids are older and I can use the experience to relate to them in some way. Bottom line? God grants the most struggles to the people with the ability to handle it. He must think pretty highly of us to allow us to go through things that challenge us and cause is to make decisions. Yes, each and every one of those decisions changes us. Isn’t that what God intended all along?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

