Hard Work

This summer, I was the maintenance man at a summer camp. I worked 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. during the week cutting grass, taking out the trash, and other jobs.

My work taught me about hard work. I worked 7 hours a day for $30. For my previous jobs, I would have been paid about twice that much. But each day, I rolled out of bed and put on my work clothes and got to work.

My amazing parents taught me to work hard when your boss isn’t watching–because you’re true character is revealed when you’re alone.
I’ve worked hard this summer, and I’m proud of what I did.

I had to do some disgusting jobs–taking out the grease bucket, cleaning up puke and human waste, and disposing of dead animals. But I did it. I didn’t quit.

I did my job to the best of my ability. In the end, my work wasn’t about the paycheck–it was about character and perseverance. A person’s life is characterized by many small and seemingly insignificant decisions. Life is not a sprint … it’s a marathon.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

