Learning Servanthood

If you want to learn about service and selflessness then become a summer camp counselors. I worked at Pleasant Hills Outdoor Center (http://www.phoc.org/) this summer–I was the maintenance man. But sometimes we didn’t have enough guy counselors so I filled in.

During a week when I was a counselors, one of my boys pooped in his pants. He was eight-years old, and I don’t know what went wrong because he was definitely potty-trained. As a counselors, you’re in charge of your kids’ health and safety … it’s like being the father of a cabin full of 8-12 year-old boys.

When I saw the wet, brown poop smeared down his leg I immediately gagged. So I spent the next 15-30 minutes cleaning his dirty clothes and making sure he got new clothes. It was one of the most disgusting things I had to do at camp.

As I was spraying off his shorts with a hose and fighting my gag reflex, I realized I wasn’t annoyed or anger at my camper. I didn’t like cleaning up fresh poop, but I was willing to do it. This surprised me because I know I’m a selfish person.

As fallen humans, we are naturally self-centered. I was only able to serve cheerfully through the work of God. Also, I was surrounded by Christians who consistently and willingly served those around them, and their example was a great encouragement to me when times were tough.

So if you want to grow and become a better servant then join a summer camp.

This is a shout out to my PHOC family—you guys rock!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Anonymous

     /  August 27, 2010

    you rock too Jonathan! this made me laugh :] (but counselors is not spelled with an ‘i’. only thing that bothered me!)

    Reply
    • Thanks!

      (I’ll go ahead and change the spelling for you … 🙂 I’m kind of embarrassed I missed that.)

      Reply
  2. Tink

     /  August 27, 2010

    Love you Bundy! Funny thing is if you were to have puked, you probably would’ve had to clean that up as well.. haha 🙂

    Reply
  3. great story bundy! so grateful for your investment in the kids…but more importantly…in yourself. maybe we should change the tag line for phoc…come serve a week…just as you are…and leave different.

    btw…have some video coming of the amazing international visitors at camp…stay tuned.

    Reply
  4. Tyler

     /  August 27, 2010

    Bundy! It was such a great time being in your cabin, Although it was rough with me being a CIT and you not expecting to be watching a cabin of kids, On top of having the youngest kids that week, i think we did really good, I feel like we worked well together, You where still able to do your Maintnance duties while i wen around on morning activities and what not. Its was a really wonderfull experience to work with you, Hopefully in the future we will have more opportunities to work together, In any way. Talk to you soon, Tyler.

    Reply
    • Yeah, I think we did a stellar job considering the circumstances. And it was definitely really fun and a huge privilege to work with you. Talk to you soon

      Reply
  5. kayla

     /  August 28, 2010

    Bundy! This is my favorite story of yours! But you really did a great job! Always willing to step in and help out whenever you were needed! It was a great summer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

