Acknowledgments

So, I’m back.

I wrote this little story for a class, and it made a fellow student laugh so I decided to post it. The assignment was to create a story using the format of a book acknowledgment. Just to make it clear … this is NOT me. I have never published a book, and I’m not married. (But I do love pot roast …)

***

Acknowledgments

I can barely believe I’m writing the acknowledgments to my book. Right now I’m sitting in front of the computer where I wrote most of Strange Love. The sun is setting, and I can smell pot roast in the oven.

So many people are responsible for this book. I want to thank my publisher from the bottom of my heart. Why you want to publish a book written by a guy like me is beyond me. I’m just a regular guy that sneezes and pulls on his pants like everybody else.

There are so many people to thank. I’m afraid I’ll forget to mention someone and offend them. So I’ll just talk about the person that will definitely be incensed if I don’t mention them.

I want to thank my lovely editor for all of her affectionate support. I literally couldn’t have written Strange Love without her. Thank you, Janna.

By the way, I’ve forgiven you for the time you cut the scene with the umbrella. I think people would have loved it, but I bow to your superior judgment.

You always keep me from publishing something stupid. I will be grateful for the rest of my life. Looking back on it, I admit a story about a cyborg polar bear falling in love with a snowmobile was probably a bad idea. You probably thought I was insane when I told you about it.

I will quit my rambling. At this very second, I can hear little Johnny calling for his mother, and you’re busy at the moment. Don’t worry, Johnny. Daddy is coming.

I think this is an proper way to end my disjointed acknowledgment. If you boil it down, Strange Love is a just a simple story about family and love. Got to go.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Kells

     /  March 18, 2010

    no one has left a comment? how sad. but perhaps i should just look at it as an opportunity to be the first. 😀

    first of all i think that’s a fun idea for an assignment.
    although this is not you, i can totally see it as you.
    after reading this i think i’m going to read the acknowledgments page of the next book i read because i realize now that they can’t all be boring.

    great job :]

    Reply
    • Thank you, Kells. 🙂

      I think it’s interesting how you can see me as the main character because it’s a basic truth in writing fiction that your charcters are a part of you … the good, the bad, and the ugly. Whatever comes out on the paper is a part of you.

      Reply
  2. Zachary L

     /  March 18, 2010

    hahah, i did read it but didnt have time to comment afterward. I love it! i think the book itself is kinda silly i do agree with the publisher 😛 but of course it isnt the book i am reading it is the acknowledgments which are awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

