The Song of the Madman (poetic version)

I have spent the last of my honesty, and I am left with chaos. Truth is a blazing torch that dispels darkness, but it can burn your eyes. And I can’t reveal the truth now. I hide behind walls and cling to my rags. I am ruled by modesty and shame. I spin words like a spider, making a thick and tangled web. Who can understand the song of a madman?

A scream in outer space is soundless. So why open your mouth? Perhaps a scream is unstoppable even when you know it will be noiseless. Or maybe it’s a last act of defiance. I think I would scream even if no human heard me. For a voice shouting in the desert might be answered. “Who am I? Where am I going?” Sing, sing to the heavens and strike the earth for you will be heard. Sing in the tongue of angels and pray for understanding.

The darkness is at the door, and the darkness is in the house, and the darkness is in the mirror. And I fear the darkness. So I scream. I throw back my head and shred my vocal cords. Sing the song of the madman and beg for understanding. Scream.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

