I’m Going Home

I wrote this before Christmas break but didn’t post it. I really liked it because it involved time and heaven, and it is a good presentation of what I think about life, death, and heaven. I hesitated to post it because I didn’t want people to think I was talking about my earthly home in Columbus, Ohio. (I love you guys.) And I was also worried that people would think I was suicidal or morbid. I assure you, I am neither. I just know that we’re all just passing through. So here it is.

    Someday and somehow, I’m going home. Each breath of air and each tick of the clock means I’m closer. If I’m run down by a metal machine on a lonely road, I’m going home. If I’m cut down by cold steel on the streets, I’m going home. If the Reaper finds me when I am gnarled by time, I’m going home. I’m going home. Hallelujah, I’m going home.

I guess I might think about heaven more than most people. Sometimes I get tired of the darkness in this world. My heart cries out that our brokeness is unnatural. This is not the way it should be. It is then when I am filled with longing for heaven.

But this is my home now, and I intend to live life to the fullest.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Zachary L

     /  January 6, 2010

    I love it! I really like the…euphemisms? i dont know…the wording? how you described possible deaths without making it sound morbid? it really does sound exciting, not like “oh i hate my life” but more like, “even when I die, I know where I am going and that I am taken care of.” I hope that makes sense, if not, ignore all of it but that first part that =P

    Reply
  2. Thanks, man! I really wanted to express my yearning for heaven without cheapening the joy of my current existence.

    Reply
  3. Greg

     /  January 6, 2010

    The truth is always good!

    I can relate Jonathan…I too am ready to go to my heavenly home…not in a “Gee, I can’t wait to die!” way… it’s just that after many years and much experience, I’ve finally realized that it is there that I will find everlasting peace. This place is not my home.

    Until then, onward and upward!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

