Never Compromise

This post is a departure from what I normally write. On this Thursday night, I want to share with you what is happening in my life.

If my application is accepted, I will be writing for the Cedarville University student newspaper next semester. My fellow CU students probably remember the previous incarnation named Cedars. The new paper is still nameless. I am applying to be a writer and I might also apply to be an editor. I am so excited about next semester.

This semester is building to a crescendo. Project, papers, and tests that I avoided for so long can’t be ignored anymore. No calm closing or quiet dying breath. Rather, these weeks will be a mad sprint to the end. Finish strong, my friends, and hold no regrets!

Psalm 42 has been tickling my spirit for the last months. The psalm begins, “As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God.” And, later, verse 5-6 says:

    “Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.”

This verse speaks a lot to me right now. I’m still trying to live it out. And I fail more than I succeed. But I will not yield. In the words of Rorschach from Watchmen:

    “Never compromise. Not even in the face of Armageddon.”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. …mad sprint to the end…I couldn’t agree more..
    and that verse has been in my mind a lot recently as well…

    ~Josh

    Reply
  2. Martha

     /  November 13, 2009

    much to think about and do! I like vs. 5-6…put our hope in the Lord. I needed to hear that !

    Reply
  3. Zachary L

     /  November 24, 2009

    I am a huge fan of the metaphor of death for the semester. It fits so well. Lets go out in a blaze of glory!

    it also reminds me a bit of Denethor, “no long slow sleep of death embalmed…”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

