The god Chronos

Bleeding Away-

Time is running away
Like sand slipping through my fingers
Like blood pumping out of a dying man
Like a candle’s flame in a dark room
Time is bleeding past my bloodshot eyes
But where does it go?

Erase-

In the end, time will master us all
Erase our troubles and our guilt and our love
So I will forget the trouble of my guilty love
Some day it will fade away
But not today and not the next day
Please, fade away, just fade away
Go away, oh God, make it go away

The god Chronos-

Time has passed, Chronos has deadened my pain
Is it wrong to wish for anguish?
If I still feel the pain then I still feel the joy
My heart has healed, it still beats in my chest like a clock
But will I ever be the same as I was before?
I am whole but the scars remain
A friend once told me
That our past shapes us into who we are
I think she was right

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. jonathan

     /  November 1, 2009

    What do you think, my friends? How did it make you feel?

    Reply
  2. Kelly

     /  November 1, 2009

    this is really good! (sorry for the boring way of expressing my thoughts) i know there is so much more i could say (and want to say) but the words are somehow trapped behind a glass wall, they see the laptop screen but cannot move any farther towards their destination. sorry, but yes i like it a lot. great descriptions.

    Reply
  3. Apryl

     /  November 2, 2009

    Excellent imagery. I like how, in the first stanza, you have a constant theme of blood with your word choice, ex: bloodshot, bleeding, blood, etc.

    I also like how it leads up to this one point, building and building, until, in the last line, when it seems to come crashing down in a sort of defeated comment, offhanded almost, as if you’re shrugging your shoulders.

    Very good. I can’t wait to see what else you write, especially next semester. :]

    Reply
  4. Jennie

     /  November 2, 2009

    This is spectacular! I really like the style of this poem. Good similes 🙂 very moving and unique.
    It made me want to read more! Keep writing.

    P.S. She was right.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

