Vampires and “Daybreakers”

As many of you might know, I am fascinated by vampires. I do not “like” vampires. How can you like such monsters? However, I find the vampire to be utterly captivating. I have invested time and energy researching these bloodsuckers. I am particularly interested in the vampire mythos. You must understand that the modern vampire is drastically different from the vampires of folklore. But that’s a conversation for another time…

I need to make a strong and clear statement. Listen very carefully. The Twilight Series is not a great representation of the collective vampire lore. It is only four books. If you think of Twilight when you hear the word “vampire” then you’re missing out. There is so much more. We will see if Twilight will be enshrined with Dracula and Anne Rice’s “The Vampire Chronicles.”

I confess that I’ve wandered from my chosen topic. I am so psyched about a new vampire movie coming out in 2010. It is “Daybreakers” starring Ethan Hawke.

In “Daybreakers,” nearly all humans have been transformed into vampires. The remaining humans are imprisoned and farmed for blood. But then the blood starts to run out. Worse, if vampires don’t get enough blood they will turn into raging, zombie-like monsters. Toss in a few rogue humans and a drug that changes vampires back into humans and you have “Daybreakers.”

Interesting premise. I only hope they deliver.

Check out the trailer. It’s pretty sweet even if you aren’t interested in vampires.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ayYiMygqlfo

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Jennie

     /  September 29, 2009

    O, Bundy. This makes me laugh considering our discussion the other day about vampires.

    Reply
    • jonathan

       /  September 29, 2009

      Well, I’m glad I brought a little joy into the world. What part made you laugh?

      Reply
      • Emily

         /  September 29, 2009

        Random parts….such as “I have invested time and energy researching these bloodsuckers. I am particularly interested in the vampire mythos.” The random wording makes me chuckle.
        Good work!

        Reply
  2. Beebs

     /  September 29, 2009

    Jon, I think you secretly want to be a vampire! Very interesting idea for a movie though. It’s interesting to think of vampires as the majority instead of the secretive minority. Should be a good film.

    Reply
  3. ajwsmith

     /  September 30, 2009

    dude…this is a little creepy. i think ben should watch his back

    Reply
  4. Abril

     /  September 30, 2009

    That movie does sound intense… but good :] And I know what you mean; you can not like something, but it still fascinates you. Have you ever seen those shows on the History Channel where they explore vampires and the stories/ events behind what stereotype vampires as today? They’re really good, and generally on around Halloween.

    Also, Beebs, that speech you did last year is Speech class was very informative (which is good, since it was an informative speech and all…), but most of the time, when we think ‘vampire’ we think mythology, folk lore, distant past, etc., but that’s not true. Vampires, or people that claim they are vampires, still exist today.

    Reply
    • jonathan

       /  September 30, 2009

      No, I haven’t seen one of those! They sounds really interesting. I might try to find ’em on good ol’ YouTube.

      Touché. In my amateur research, I generally focus on the vampire of literature and folklore. However, I have run across stories about people who claim to be vampires. Currently there is a religious organization called the Temple of the Vampire. (Many people consider them to be a cult or scam.)

      The most disturbing and horrific stoires have been about murderers that believe they are vampires. It’s twisted, sick stuff. The individuals are generally mentally disturbed. They are also usually involved in the occult (if I remember correctly).

      I’ve also heard about so-called “psychic-vampires.” Apparently a psi-vampire is a person that can “drain” engery from others.

      Reply
      • Abril

         /  September 30, 2009

        Then there’s the current “goth” teenage fascination with vampires and the occult, which leads to a desire to BE vampires… honestly, the “goth” stereotype is to be interested in that, and they don’t even understand the history behind it or are just trying to fit in.

        As far as serial killers go, we know something just isn’t right with them. Have you ever heard of Son of Sam?

        Reply
        • jonathan

           /  September 30, 2009

          I have trouble trying to explain my interest in vampire. Most people get a weird vibe when I tell them I’m fascinated with vampires. My fascination is an academic pursuit for me.

          No, I haven’t heard of Son of Sam.

          Reply
  5. Martha

     /  September 30, 2009

    Yikes, that movie would scare me to death! I think I might stay home and watch the Disney version of The Sleepy Hollow!

    Reply
    • jonathan

       /  September 30, 2009

      Hey, I remember watching Sleepy Hollow when I was younger! That was scary!

      Reply
  6. Dude, I so wanna see that…we should get a group together whenever it does come out. lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

