The Vial

You are standing in a stark, white room. The smell of chemicals assult your nose. A metal table stands in the middle of the floor. On the table is a glass vial filled with a red liquid.

The lipiud is a drug created by the U.S. government that will give the drinker super powers. But the drug is dangerous. There is a chance that you will die if you drink it. (The chance of survial is roughly 80%.)

What do you do? Do you drink the liquid? Or do you leave the room?

Choose.

Please write your decision below. Remember to post at least your first name (you don’t have to write your e-mail address).

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. James Bundy

     /  September 16, 2009

    i would drink it.

    Reply
    • jonathan

       /  September 16, 2009

      Sweetness. You’d probably get super strength, speed, and endurance (if you surived, of course).

      Reply
  2. Zachary L

     /  September 17, 2009

    Drink! Every time! know where im going if i dont get super powers (well also if i do assuming immortality is not one of the powers it gives me)

    Reply
    • jonathan

       /  September 17, 2009

      Yeah, we’ll leave immortality out of the mix this time. πŸ™‚ That’s an intersting thought. I didn’t really think about it that way. What super power would you want?

      Reply
  3. Martha

     /  September 17, 2009

    I’m the party pooper here! I wouldn’t drink it, just because I have some kids I’m responsible for raising at this point. Maybe if I was 20 years old or 80 years old. Just a day ago one of my kids asked what super power I would like to have. Without thinking too much or without trying to be too spiritual, I said flying like Superman. I think that would be cool. You know the spiritual answer would be…cure all sicknesses in the world, feed the poor, etc.

    Reply
    • jonathan

       /  September 17, 2009

      And I’m not suprised. I think it’s great that your responsibility to family is more important that getting super powers. I think it’s interesting that you might have if you were 20 or 80. Have you ever had a dream when you’re flying?

      Reply
      • Martha

         /  September 20, 2009

        No dreams of me flying. But I was asked what super power I would like by my young son a few days ago. I thought about it and thought… flying, so I could see different places around the world and visit family. πŸ™‚

        Reply
  4. Amy

     /  September 20, 2009

    Hmmmm this is a toughy… normally I’m not a huge risk taker, but since this is a hypothetical situation I guess I’d drink this hazardous red liquid. Had it only been a 50/50 chance of survival I probably wouldn’t drink, but 80% chance is pretty high and the odds of me surviving would be in my favor. And if I could choose what super power I’d get from this magic liquor I’d want to have telekinesis or something like that. That would be shweet!!! haha

    Reply
    • jonathan

       /  September 21, 2009

      All righty. 80% is pretty high. I see you’d play the odds. By the way, are you good at poker? To be honest, I’m not entirely sure what I would do in this situation… though I would definitely enjoy tossing things around with my mind. πŸ˜‰

      Reply
      • Amy

         /  September 21, 2009

        No I’m a terrible poker player actually haha. I don’t know how to bluff well or anything & whenever I do get a good hand for once some other player miraculously has a better hand. I like to think about questions like this too. It’s always interesting to hear other people’s opinions about if they would or wouldn’t *insert predicament.*

        Reply
        • jonathan

           /  September 21, 2009

          Yeah, I find it fascinating. (Which is why I posted this… πŸ™‚ ) It gives you a unique glimpse into a person’s thinking process.

          Reply
  5. Apryl

     /  September 20, 2009

    Hmmm… honestly, I don’t think I would drink it. I feel that– and not to get too spiritual here– if God wanted us to have those powers, we would. Just because we CAN get them doesn’t necessarily mean we should. It comes down to an ethical/spiritual war within me.

    Reply
    • jonathan

       /  September 21, 2009

      Don’t think that you’re being too spiritual. It is a very spiritually related decision. For me the question is: What would God want me to do?

      Reply
      • Kelly

         /  September 24, 2009

        Exactly. Just because I want to do it, and I can do it, doesn’t mean God wants me to do it. Those powers weren’t given to me, so am I meant to have them?

        Reply
  6. Kelly

     /  September 20, 2009

    I would not. Don’t know if I’m being boring here or not, but I’m fairly satisfied with who I am (not 100% because I can always improve). I just don’t think that super powers would make me a better human being or Christian.

    Reply
    • jonathan

       /  September 21, 2009

      A reasonable decision. I admit that I am enamored with the idea of super powers. (You know how I’m a super-hero freak.) Certainly, it would not make me a more ethical person.

      Reply
  7. Patrick

     /  September 20, 2009

    Hmm, good question. But first, I have a question: is the whole description of what the drink does something that I already know or am I oblivious to it all and I just have to make the decision? If I didn’t know anything about it, I’d most definitely just leave the room. If I knew……. I think I’d still leave the room ’cause whatever can go wrong usually does seem to go wrong for me and I’d prolly die…… 😦

    Reply
    • jonathan

       /  September 22, 2009

      You would know all the facts about the decision.

      Well, if you’re always defying the odds… and bad things always seem to happen to you then I understand how 80% would seem a bit unstable. Don’t drink and you’ll walk away. However, if you do drink… there is no certainty you’ll live. I understand that reasoning.

      Reply
  8. Joel Bundy

     /  September 21, 2009

    I probably would walk away… I really don’t want the responsibility of being “super powered.” especially if there’s a 1 in 5 chance of not walking away.

    Reply
    • jonathan

       /  September 24, 2009

      I have thought about the responsibility that would come with power. Would I use it for good or would I squander it? Or worse, would I abuse my power?

      It would be a rough life. In one sense, your life would not be your own. And you would have a bulls-eye on your chest.

      Reply
  9. I had to re read the post a couple times before I could come to my decision. I would drink it. 80% is good, and im relatively healthy. Im a Christian, so I know where Im going, and Ive always been a sucker for superpowers. Since it says super power(s) ill go with 3, because more than that is probably a little too much for one person to handle. I would like invisiblilty, speed, and super eyesight. teleporting would be awesome, however, I did have to pick 3. For me, it is a question of what if? To spend the rest of my life wondering would be more torture than having the powers would be. I guess I just want to know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

