Life is in the Blood

I was sitting in my room reading the book of Leviticus for my Old Testament class when a passage leapt out at me like a monster from a cheesy horror movie.

In Leviticus, Moses wrote, “‘Any Israelite or any alien living among them who eats any blood—I will set my face against that person who eats blood and will cut him off from his people. For the life of a creature is in the blood, and I have given it to you to make atonement for yourselves on the altar; it is the blood that makes atonement for one’s life.’”

The phrase “the life of a creature is in the blood” resounded with me for several reasons. However, I need to explain a something first.

I have an intense fascination with vampires. I know that some of you will think that’s a little weird. By definition, a vampire is a revenant that drinks the blood of the living. According to myths, vampires drank blood to reverse the effects of death. (During this time, individuals believed that the dead were dried out.) The vampire drinks blood because it contains life.

In the Old Testament, blood was sacred. It was used by the priests to atone for sins. The life of a living creature (their very essence) was needed to wash away sin. Blood was powerful stuff.

During the last supper, Jesus Christ told his disciples to drink his blood. That was heresy to a Jew. If a member of the Old Covenant drank blood, they would be kicked out the Hebrew nation. However, the only way to enter the New Covenant is to drink the blood of Christ.

The life of Christ is in his blood. When his blood slips over our lips and down our throats, we are brought back to life. But we do not need to drink again and again. Once is enough.

All of this flooded through my brain in a few seconds. Amazing! It’s all about the blood.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Anonymous

     /  September 10, 2009

    I thought it was really interesting. I’m taking OT this semester too, but we’re only up to like Genesis 3. I thought your observation about blood=life was really interesting, esp. the point about how Jesus came to fulfill the law, but he also sorta reinvented things. I’m assuming when you wrote about drinking Jesus’ blood you were speaking figuratively? I also liked the vampire thing 🙂 *starts humming X-Files theme song*

    Reply
  2. Jessica McCartney

     /  September 10, 2009

    P.S. I posted that last comment but I forgot to put my name on it.

    Reply
  3. jonathan

     /  September 10, 2009

    Guys,

    I would love to know what you think: the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly. (Try to minimize the ugly though… 🙂 )

    Reply
  4. jonathan

     /  September 10, 2009

    I’m glad you liked it. Yes, I was writing figuratively when I talked about drinking the blood of Christ. I thought it was expecially appropriate becuase Jesus himself was speaking figuratively when he talked to his disciples.

    Reply
  5. Jessica McCartney

     /  September 11, 2009

    Gotcha

    Reply
  6. Tiff

     /  September 11, 2009

    Jonathan David…. Ur an amazing writer! I love how we actually just had this convo… Sort of…… But this is good stuff even if u are obssessed with vampires :p

    Reply
  7. Zachary L

     /  September 12, 2009

    Dude, that is amazingly true. I suppose i knew that it was totally unacceptable for a jew to eat blood, and i knew that the bread is his body and the wine his blood, but it just never clicked that he was asking us to completely separate ourselves from the old covenant. (i obviously dont mean that we should live in sin that grace may abound, just that becoming a christian means that you are admitting there is no way you can be saved through the law).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

