Between North and South

My arms are outstretched, but I’m not Jesus, and my torment is not the cross

I’m caught in the crossfire, pulled in different directions

North and South are forever divided but I’m captured between two worlds

That invisible line pierces by hands and holds my arms outstretched

I can’t move and I can’t breathe like this much longer

My joints pop, my muscles snap

Oh God, please sever the string, cut with your scissors and let cold steel bring relief

On which side will I fall?

North or South?

In which land will I find myself?

Only God knows

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. this is good…
    my only things is the very last line.
    He DOES know, but I believe that He’s also made it known what side we’ll end up on…North or South…thanks to the atoning work of His Son.
    This life is a struggle, as your poem captures quite well…
    …but we can have complete assurance as to how the story ends.

    Reply
    • Sorry, I didn’t respond sooner. I totally agree with that you said, but I actually was talking about a specific trouble I was facing… so I wasn’t exactly talking about the ending of the stoy. More like the middle. Anyways, we can talk more in person if you’d like.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

