lifting weights and worshipping

Lifting weights is like worshipping God. If that sounds strange, just give me some time to explain.

Yesterday, I jogged over to the gym at 11:20 p.m. to lift weights. (I’m a bit of a night-owl.) Most of you know I’m not a big guy. I’m a lean, mean fighting-machine… minus the mean fighting-machine.

Anyways, it was my second time in the free weights area. The level of intensity (and testosterone) is higher than in the machine area. I’m not saying that’s a bad thing. There are a lot of strong people in there. I was looking around and I thought, “Dude, that pettie young woman can probably lift more than I can.”

But back to the point. I lift weights becuase it keeps me in shape, it’s fun, and it helps me feel better about my body. Sometimes I wonder: “Why is that guy lifting? Is he trying to get girls?” And I’ll be the first person to admit that judging someone like that is wrong. You just don’t know what the person’s motives.
But sometimes it pops into my head anyways.

A similar thing happens when I’m worshipping. I see somebody a few rows ahead of me with their arms raised. Sometimes I wonder: “Why are they doing that? Are they really worshipping or are they putting on a show?”

I come from a very expressive non-denominational church so I’ve had this question pop into my head many times. I am not usually physcially expressive but sometimes I feel led to lift my hands to God. I’ve realized that it’s between you and God. Nobody else knows if you’re meeting God or if you’re trying to draw attention to yourself.

So now I train myself not to judge the girl with her arms raised or the guy pumping iron at the gym becuase I don’t know their hearts.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Zachary

     /  August 26, 2009

    Dude. Spot on. so hard, but so totally something worth working on. “Man looks at the outward appearance but The Lord looks at the heart”

    Reply
  2. Apryl

     /  September 16, 2009

    A few weeks ago, in church, they showed a video about worshiping, and it kinda touched on this. It basically said that when we worship, it’s not for us; sometimes, though, it’s hard not to judge those around us…

    I think, for the most part, people do judge others because we want to know their motives and their minds, but we don’t. So we make it up. Either that or we want some reason to feel superior. I notice this a lot with girls… which you wouldn’t really know firsthand anyway… ^___^

    Reply

Leave a Reply

